In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In the contemporary era, inhabitants are likely to shop in large out-of-town shops, resulting in a substantial rise in the cars usage and causing both positive and negative repercussions. In my opinion, I will explore both perspectives and assert my firm endorsement of the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, this phenomenon can be complementary to our well-being for a valid reason. In other words, since cars are relatively faster and much more effective than a majority of daily means of transport, people can get to stores in a fraction of time. For instance, a motorbike can take about 15 minutes to reach a two-kilometer destination, while a car can arrive at such a location within half of that amount of time. As a result, using cars may be time-saving to everyone, allowing for more leisure time, which in turn facilitate the overall quality of life for people.

On the other hand, the increase in the use of cars might also hinder our environment in many ways. First and foremost, the more individuals employ cars, the greater the air pollution gets. A notable instance is the daily volume of carbon dioxide in New York, emitted into the environment, is estimated to be around one thousand tons if about half of its citizens utilize cars. Consequently, the air pollution issue can be exacerbated, posing a detrimental threat to both humans and the eco-system. Moreover, an extensive number of cars usage can potentially impair the noise. Due to the massive sound of car engines, noise pollution may place a colossal burden on everybody. In doing so, not only citizens engaing in the transportation but also other people are disrupted by the noise, therby taking a toll on the concentration ability.

In conclusion, while acknowledging the outcomes of cars, their drawbacks are far more significant. This is because escalating the use of cars may cause air and noise problems.