In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Many small-scale inner-city retailers in various parts of the world have been closed due to the preference of dwellers to drive to suburban superstores. This limits access of non-car owners to the latter and promotes more frequent car travel. I contend that this trend, although having potential merits, is associated with far more demerits.

Admittedly, shopping in suburban mega malls is often believed to be economical and time-saving by providing a one-stop shop experience. Being built on larger yet cheaper land outside cities, these businesses may offer a wide range of goods at reasonable prices under one roof. However, this option does not actually save money and time in reality. This is because the actual time and associated costs such as fuel spent driving to suburban outlets are far more than that to town-center ones.

It is also argued that mega shopping centers on the outskirts may create employment opportunities for nearby residents. However, this shift seems merely to transfer jobs from urban to suburban areas, given the closure of many high-street shops due to the rise of off-center supermarkets. Even if displaced workers could relocate to the latter for jobs, their willingness and suitability might not be assured.

Granted, advocates may assert that shifting shopping to large-scale suburban malls could mitigate some environmental issues. They argue that weekly consolidating trips to these stores instead of frequent trips to downtown ones may reduce air pollution emissions from cars. However, this assertion seems misplaced as urbanites can even go to midtown shops without cars, utilizing emission-free modes such as bicycles or public transport. Therefore, driving to suburban supermarkets may not reduce air pollution emissions but rather add to them.

In conclusion, I believe suburban supermarkets only benefit suburbanites with access to affordable diverse goods and potential employment nearby. Conversely, shifting shopping to these locations contributes to inner-city shop closures and limits access to those shops for non-car owners, while potentially adding to pollution from increased driving.