In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Recent years have a trend that shoppers drive to large out-of-town stores instead of small town-centre shop, limiting access of those without cars and resulting in car usage has risen. Personally, I completely agree that there are positives to this change but the negatives are more significant.

Firstly, the rise in the use of car can cause increased traffic jam due to the large number of vehicles moving on the road, especially cars, which are large in size and cannot pass when there are too many cars, leading to congestion on a stretch of road. Furthermore, increasing the number of cars used also pollutes the environment. Specifically, the amount of pollutants emitted from car engines will increase, increasing the pollution level in those places and negatively affecting human health. In addtion, car production uses non-recyclable fuels and the amount of waste and waste products produced by the machine also pollutes the environment.

However, the increased demand for cars creates jobs for some people, such as drivers and car factory workers. The increasing small town-centre shops are going out of business is causing great inconvenience to local people, with those without cars being the most affected as they now have to travel far to shop. During the trip, people can enjoy the scenery and explore some new places in the suburbs, but it is time consuming to spend time travelling to out of town stores to buy things that are also available in the small shop in town.

In conclusion, shopping at large out-of-town stores instead of small in-town is harmful to the environment and health of downtown residents, despite the employment benefits. People should look back at this change and find appropriate solutions for this.