In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, working or travelling after finishing high school for a year before entering university is becoming one of the common trends among young people. While it brings many unique advantages to students who decide to do so, it is not its drawbacks.

Well planned gap year provides students with opportunity to gain real-life experience that schools fail to provide. During this period, those who work tend to develop strong sense of responsibility. Such personal development has a positive effect on their behavior as they learn to approach tasks seriously. Moreover, another evident benefit might be improving financial situation by working in highly paid jobs. In other words, today many universities that students want to apply fail to offer financial aid and scholarship and this may be obstacle for students to continue their study. However, working during their a gap year may allow them improve their economic situation and take on the burden of paying tuition fees, instead of placing it on parents.

These benefits notwithstanding, there are obvious drawbacks to taking a gap year to traveling or working. First and foremost, some may prefer to continue their work due to financial independence after gap year, making it hard for students to readapt to study hard. As a result they lose their goals in interests in their educational journey. Furthermore, a poorly planned gap year can be financially burdensome particularly for those who choose to travel without stable income. Consequently, a gap year taken for growth may turn into unproductive experience. Such experience may make students lose motivation, making them uncertain about whether to pursue further education or engage in employment.

In conclusion, taking a gap year can offer valuable opportunities for personal growth, but it may also cause financial and educational difficulties if it is not planned properly. Ultimately, taking advantage of a gap year depends on well planned strong purpose.