Is mental strength important for success in sport or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The factors contributing to performance in sports are continually being investigated by sports scientists and athletes. While some people would argue that a person’s physical attributes determine their level of performance in sports, I believe that mental conditioning is also a highly important factor.

On one hand, it is undeniable to say that a person’s physical characteristics play a major role in their performance in sports. In some sports, being able to run extremely fast, or lift or throw something very heavy is one of the main aspects of the sport. Without a strong physical body, and a high level of coordination, people would not be able to perform to a high level. Take many Olympic sports as an example. In the 100m sprint, athletes need to have powerful legs in order to be able to run at high speeds. There is, of course, some mental conditioning needed, but without strong legs, you cannot compete at a high level. Another good example is Olympic weightlifting. The basis of being able to lift extremely heavy weights is powerful, conditioned muscles.

However, high levels of strength and fitness are not the only factor that allows athletes to perform well. To be able to perform at a very high level consistently, athletes also need to be mentally strong. Professional athletes, in particular, need to have the determination and focus to be able to continually train and perform for many years, despite the many setbacks that they may face, such as injuries and loss in competition. Being able to mentally focus and concentrate whilst under pressure during a competition is also extremely important. For example, maintaining composure whilst being surrounded by thousands of screaming fans when trying to kick the winning penalty kick in a football match would be extremely difficult, and this is where mental strength is highly important.

In conclusion, although physical strength and ability are highly important in sports performance, mental strength, and focus also play an important role, particularly when it comes to elite athletes and high levels of performance and competition.