It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime?

There is currently a controversial argument over whether violence in the media is the main culprit behind the rise in crime committed by juveniles. This essay will discuss the reasons why brutality in the media negatively affects the juvenile crime rate and some solutions that can mitigate the issue.

There are 2 main reasons for the argument. Firstly, mainstream violence can affect children psychologically. As a child’s mind is not fully developed yet, it can greatly be affected by what is exposed to it. In more detail, violence can encourage teenagers to act more aggressively or even violently. For example, there was a case of teens actively trying to harm themselves and others in order to complete an internet challenge a few years ago. Secondly, children are more instinctive. Thus, violence can enact their dominant trail, which is likely ended up with more aggressive behavior toward their peers.

There are 2 measures that can be taken to alleviate the situation. One solution is that the media should censor inappropriate content on all of their shows. By doing this, Teens’ exposure to violence could be greatly reduced. To illustrate, Vietnamese government has actively censored all movies and shows before releasing them publicly in the media. Another solution is that children should have parental permission or guidance on what they can watch. As this can greatly help teenagers to choose a more age-friendly content to enjoy.

In conclusion, exposure to sensitive content in the media can adversely affect the rate of juvenile crime. If the solutions mentioned above were effectively implemented, the problem could be mitigated.