Many cities around the world are facing serious problems with air pollution. What are the main causes of this problem, and what measures could be taken to reduce it?

Cities around the world are facing serious air pollution problems. While this can be attributed to the excessive use of cars and the construction of buildings, the situation can be alleviated by improving public transport and promoting green architecture.

Cars on the road are one of the main causes of air pollution. For many people cars are a convenient option to travel. As a result, the carbon emissions produced by vehicles have a negative effect on air quality. This can lead to several health problems such as allergies and even cancer. The construction of large building projects can be another reason for air pollution. Open areas with trees are being replaced by modern skyscrapers, shopping centres and entertainment facilities. Consequently, many trees that help purify the air are being cut down, which further worsens the air quality.

However, there are several ways to solve the issue. Firstly, people should start using public transport instead of cars. Regular use of buses or subways to get to work or study places can be a major help in improving air quality. The introduction of new types of buildings with green spaces can also be effective. During construction, open areas with trees are destroyed for other facilities. So, combining buildings with green areas can also help with air quality.

In conclusion, the main reasons why many cities are facing air pollution problems are excessive use of cars and construction of buildings. However, using public transport and promoting green architecture can improve air quality.