Many parents go to work in other countries and take family with them. Do the advantages in this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people go to foreign areas to get employment by taking their households with them. It can be beneficial to their children to expand their horizons, but at the same time, it might be hard to adapt and there is the risk of forgetting their culture. Although this trend has both positive and negative aspects, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There are several key benefits. The main advantage of moving to another country with your family is the opportunity to learn a new language and make international acquaintances from different backgrounds, which help to extend their knowledge. From my own experience, a one week trip to Qatar really helped a lot. I gained new knowledge about their local cuisine and even got familiar with their local residents. Moreover, the second positive side is that immigrants can see the unusual infrastructures and developed technology that their country does not have. For instance, many countries may not have convenient features, such as service by robots, or extreme security in buildings. These points demonstrate that the trend is largely positive.

However, there are also some drawbacks. One issue is the difficulties with adaptation at the beginning. Because by moving abroad you are forced to leave your close people, culture, therefore it can be hard to conform to their local people and cuisine. For example, I have a friend of mine who recently moved to Italy for a job and now she is struggling, because there is no one for whom she can rely on and there is plenty of food that she cannot eat. In addition, travelers might forget their culture. As an example, there is one famous singer from Kazakhstan who decided to leave the country, as years passed, he consequently started to forget Kazakhstan’s national traditions. Nevertheless, these problems are less significant than the advantages.

In conclusion, despite the many negative sides of immigration to another region, I believe that downsides are greatly outweighed by the upsides.