Many parents go to work in other countries and take family with them. Do the advantages in this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is assumed by some that many parents pursue a career by taking their families overseas. The possible benefits, in general, outweigh the certain drawbacks.

There are several disadvantages to this. First of all, culture shock is likely to be the main problem when they visit to another country. The key reason for this is that every culture has different characteristics in many ways, such as cuisines and traditions. Secondly, they, particularly family members, can struggle with language barriers when they want to communicate with those who are native. My friend, for example, has been living in Berlin for 2 years, but he still struggle to communicate in German when he wants to buy something from the shop. Finally, homesickness can be one of the priority drawbacks, because everyone misses their own home country as much as they can.

However, there are certain benefits that outweigh the above-mentioned drawbacks. Pursuing a job in other nations is a possible way to foster cross-cultural understanding. The main reason is that they can encounter a new bunch of experiences in so many cases such as making new friends internationally and meeting with peers who are like-minded. They may, additionally, broaden their horizons and have the opportunity to see the world’s iconic sightseeing places. A good example is that my cousin has been working with his family in the USA for a couple of years, so the way they behave is totally different compared to those who have been living and working only in traditional companies. Therefore, there is no doubt that working in other countries is better than working in their own country.

In conclusion, the advantages, including the cross-cultural understanding and broadening their horizons, surely outweigh the disadvantages, such as cultural shock, language barriers and homesickness.