Many people believe that volunteering is important for society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often suggested that everyone must carry out voluntary work for their own society and contribute to development of the community. I definitely support this view as it can be beneficial for both volunteers and the society.

Firstly, offering services free of charge to the local people may bring several advantages to volunteers, especially for those who have just set up their professions. That is to say, by doing unpaid work, they can gain valuable experience and gradually become master at their sphere. Working with people from all walks of life makes them more sophisticated and flexible in their work. Moreover, doing voluntary work in the community may provide them with a chance to make their name well-known and get new acquaintances, which would make their future businesses easier to set up.

Secondly, volunteering plays a pivotal role in developing the society. People who are financially-disadvantaged in the community, can greatly benefit from utilizing such free services. Free check-ups in the health clinics can be a good example for this. Also, streets, parks, and play grounds may be frequently upgraded and cleaned with a help of volunteers. Lastly, the gap between the rich and the poor may not be a problem anymore. For instance, donations and financial-aids given by volunteers will be directed to those who really need it.

To sum up, volunteering has always been regarded as a positive trait and encouraged every individual to be a part of this. Personally, I feel there is no any harm or negative consequences of carry out voluntary tasks for the society.