Marriages are becoming bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is the case? Is it positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that establishing a home these days has become much more financially demanding in comparison to the past. From my perspective, this is an apparent problem facing numerous young people who plan to get married.

One obvious reason for this both social and economic issue is that the youth are sometimes tended to be consistently in need of excessive requirements. Undoubtedly, these needs are mostly driven by advertising messages that often encourage people to look for bargains, which in turn lead to developing more artificial wants among people. To illustrate, in some underdeveloped regions of the world, local villages in Egypt for instance, potential brides can sometimes indiscriminately purchase hundreds of bed sheets and towels for their homes. Actions like this can put more strain on economic systems, resulting in successive increases in prices and unavailability of goods.

Another major reason to mention is peer pressure among family members and close friends, in which some people can just flaunt their wealth in front of others by possessing the most luxury items and home appliances for example. These behavours of impressing peers and impulsive purchase have been recently evolved owing to some common negative purchasing habits that have never been there before among our wise grandparents. In fact, during the periods of economic challenges, older generations tried their best to cope with the changes and the lack of resources. This is to say, younger generations can be far less responsible when it comes to being selective and efficient in establishing their houses.

In conclusion, marriages are mostly becoming costly and demanding on account for surplus material needs and peer pressure of buying goods, for which I still argue that this development is adversely negative for both the economy and potential families.