Men and women are capable of doing all jobs equally. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The ability to do a job is not limited by sex. Despite today’s emphasis on gender equality, women are still held back by stereotypes and the glass ceiling. It takes much more effort for them to be recruited to do the same job as men and to manage commitments. This essay provides arguments for my position on the issue.

First of all, there is no country where gender equality has been fully achieved. Women with a declared right to work are often overlooked by recruiters because of their marital status or because of stereotypes about housework or sexist attitudes. In Ukraine, for example, martial law is a factor in the tendency for women to join the army, but they are often laughed at by male soldiers or seen as an afterthought. In addition, ammunition and military uniforms often do not meet their basic needs. Women are also targets of sexual harassment and abuse. Male dominance is evident even when both sexes have the opportunity to work together.

On the contrary, some cultures and national laws prohibit the employment of women in ‘hard physical work’ such as mining or long night shifts. Even though physiologically men are more resilient than women, such laws can be discriminatory for both sexes: for men in that they are ultimately responsible, and for women in that they limit their ability to earn more money in a way they consider acceptable. In most cases, female representatives of low-income communities who want to work in factories should provide reports on the effectiveness of their work and manage the household.

To conclude, the given statement is controversial as it shows the importance of profound analysis of the concept of gender equality and considering invisible challenges and oppression that women face.