More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

Nowadays companies and people in general choose to use technology both for professional or social interaction purposes. This essay aims to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such preference in the following paragraphs.

Technology advancement provides ease of use and flexibilites when it comes to both written and verbal communication. Companies can conduct meetings using teleconference software without requiring their employees to be present physically meaning that they can do it in their comfort, be it their own house, at the park or even inside the bus. In a more general context, families can keep in touch with their loved ones using their smartphone even when they are far away from home. With the help of communication technology such as smartphones and their wide range of chat and telephone applications, people can stay connected even though they are thousands of kilometers apart.

However, there are downsides caused by this style of communciation. In business context, employees are expected to entrust the responsibilities of doing the job properly to their employees. Since they are not in the same place, the supervising process can be tricky because employees might find some loopholes in the system. Additionally, families who are accustomed to non-physical interaction might be occupied with their phones hence they might lose the intimacy feeling towards the other family members.

In conclusion, while many business actors and individuals find it convenient to interact using communication technology, they are faced with the fact that such interaction comes with its pros and cons. On the one side, the communication has become more flexible easy to do, but on the other side, the social feeling might decrease over time.