Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, a majority of individuals are traveling to other countries as tourists compared to the past. In my opinion, it is a positive development, given the benefits of exposure and social integration.

To begin with, tourism exposes travelers to the diverse cultures of different countries. Cultures may differ from one country to another, so when people travel, they get to learn the diverse ways of life and behavior among various nations, which builds their knowledge. For example, if Americans toured Uganda, they would appreciate the cultural norms of Ugandans, which builds relevant clues to epidemiological patterns, hence fostering research.

Additionally, touring a diversity of nations promotes social integration. This is relevant because when several individuals, of varying cultural origins, learn and accept each other, they can build alliances in several sectors, such as research, charity, and education, to mention but a few. The latter breeds a ground for biodiverse societies to cooperate and develop each other. For instance, when the HIV pandemic hit Uganda in the early 1980s, the American government became concerned and funded its researchers to investigate, intervene, and reduce the prevalence and incidence of HIV/AIDS. This was only possible due to the social ties and agreements that Uganda had with America.

In conclusion, I still contend that tourism among biodiverse regions should be encouraged and commended because it promotes education, research, and intercultural social developmental programs. In this day and age, Africa has benefited a lot from the overseas community due to the cooperation that arose from tourist activities.