Nowadays, more tasks at home and at work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

In contemporary societies, robots has become an integral part of human life, whether at work or at home. Some argue that this is a positive development as convenience and efficiency would be provided; while others claim that negative developments is also brought in While both views are compelling, it is important to acknowledge that robots should use wisely while reliance should be avoided.

On one hand, convenience and efficiency would be. Workplace robots have the ability to handle heavy workloads which allows people to focus on creativities. While home robots allow humans to spend more time with things they are interested in and develop other skills that support them in other sectors and areas. As an illustration, with housekeeping and cooking robots, families often have more time to communicate and interact with each other, rather than spending a huge amount of time on housekeeping.

On the other hand, over-reliance often presents when robots take over tasks that should be done by humans. Over-reliance often leads to the loss of practical skills as people tend not to practice the basic skills as robots start to take over simple tasks that are needed for daily living. Long term over-reliance on robots might eradicate people’s ability to adapt to situations and problem-solving skills. For instance, over-reliance on calculators might cause people to fail to develop the basic skills of simple calculations such as additions, subtractions, etc.

In conclusion, while work and house robots have potential drawbacks as people lack independence towards robots, positive developments such as convenience and efficiency are presented. People should make wise decisions when using robots whether at work or at home.