Nowadays, the development of technology has allowed computers and mobiles to translate language automatically. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world computers and phones are able to translate language automatically because of advanced technologies. I believe that disadvantages of that outweigh the advantages because most entrepreneurs have lost their jobs. However, there is a slight benefit of saving time for more important tasks.

A possible advantage of automatic translation is reduction of time spent on the text conversion. This is because modern devices can translate a whole text in few seconds. As a consequence, a large amount of time is saved because there is no necessity to use the dictionary or something else to entrepreneur the text. For instance, “Google translate” is online automatic translator which could be used on both phone and computer. Moreover, it could translate any kind of text, including photos. However, in my opinion, saving time is not so crucial in the context that lots of entrepreneurs have lost their jobs.

A major disadvantage is human-being translators are not in demand in modern world. This is because advanced computers and mobiles became a substitute for translators, hence, they are faster and do not have human error. For example, few decades ago all books were translated by people, however, nowadays, nearly all books are translated by automatic translators. As a consequence, a lot of translators lost jobs because they are not useful in that area of translation. This situation greatly outweighs the pros of computers and phones which is able to translate the whole texts.

I believe a major disadvantage of online translation which outweighs a probable advantage of saving time is that a vast amount of people have lost their jobs.