One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in medical services have contributed to longer lifespans, resulting in an increased life expectancy. Even though it can place a significant pressure on governments, I believe that advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages, as older people can continue working for society through work, experience and knowledge.

A key drawback of longer average longevity is that it creates a considerable challenge for governments, especially in terms of healthcare and pension systems. As the proportion of elderly people rises, expenditure on medical treatment and long-term healthcare also increases, and as a consequence it can lead to difficulties in creating a sustainable economy. At the same time, as elderly individuals live longer after retirement, governments are required to pay pensions for a more extended period, while the number of working taxpayers decreases. This trend may result in imbalance in society, forcing governments to increase taxes, causing dissatisfaction among employed residents. Developed countries, for example, were forced to increase the retirement age and amount of taxes to keep the pension schemes sustainable. However, these challenges can be addressed through improved healthcare systems and invention of new policies.

One significant advantage of increased population longevity is that older individuals get an opportunity to remain active members of society for longer periods. Due to better healthcare, elderly people with good mental and physical health, can continue working and sharing their knowledge with younger generations. In addition, older residents can continue participating in social charities and events, enhancing community life and offering a wealth of human experiences, which can get lost if people retire earlier. For instance, retired teachers and doctors in some nations continue working in universities or mentoring programs, which can guide new educators and share knowledge with younger generations.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of longer lifespan due to better health treatment carries greater weight than the challenges it creates for governments, because it allows older generations to remain active residents and pass their knowledge.