Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

There is a common negative trend in striking increasing of the population in large city centers all over the globe. Notably, such a phenomenon is provoked by the allocating of significantly attractive both career and education opportunities there, which results in severe problems for rural areas. That is why it is highly important to mitigate these causes to address the problem down to its roots.

First of all, one of the major precursor of cities overcrowding is the trend in an urbanization and the remarkable concentration of opportunities in cities. In other words, particularly in cities, the numerous businesses, headquarters of international companies, and entrepreneurships are located. Consequently, such major urban centres could offer a plethora of career possibilities, that is why the migration in the large scale in these areas is observed. Another possible cause of the cities overpopulation is that, in most of the cases, universities, colleges and other education institutions, recognized by quality and competitive education, are situated there. Undoubtedly, a significant quantity of young individuals, both native and overseas, are prone to complete their study in such conditions, eventually, they are more likely to stay there for a long-term period.

To tackle the problem with overpopulation in cities as a result of urbanization, the government should establish a comprehensive and widespread policy to enhance the development of villages and peripheral areas. For instance, the efficient solution for this may be providing grants for entrepreneurships or renting tax decrease for companies, which are motivated to open their offices on the outskirts. Additionally, another possible solution for government is to encourage well-known universities and schools to expand its network to rural areas, in order to stimulate the freshmen entering there.

To conclude, despite having relatively stable dynamic in the cities overpopulation due to the variety of jobs and educational opportunities concentrated there, such issue could be effectively addressed by the policy regulation to support villages. As a result, sub-urban areas may gain traction among both businesses, workers and young students.