People are living longer. Some people think that this causes big problems. Others, however, think that an aging society has numerous advantages for business, government, and for society in general. DIscuss both views and give your own opinion.

Population is a public interesting topic in lots of countries, especially the increase in old people’s ages. While some claim that longer lives of people cause serious problems, others believe it is advantageous for governments and organizations in aging societies. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views of this issue, then explain my position.

In terms of advantages of aging societies, there are two. First, it is beneficial for governments to increase retirement ages. To illustrate, the higher the ages of people, the more years governments can take advantage of them. For example, recently Vietnam has adjusted the retirement age of men from 60 to 65, and women, from 55 to 60. As a consequence, while people are supposed to work more, the time that they receive retired salaries decreases. Second, it is advantageous for businesses to open communal homes for old people. To demonstrate, in aging societies, the elderly are taken care of by staff in communal houses instead of their families. This is because young people are too busy to care for the elderly. Therefore, running businesses about projects for old people is not only commercial, but also brings them the sense of no isolation.

In terms of disadvantages of aging societies, the more the elderly, the more workload that working people are supposed to be in charge of. This is because of making lots of efforts in the past, the elderly deserve to receive benefits and wealthcare from governments. However, most benefits for the elderly are from taxes that working people submit to governments. That is why it is challenging for working people when governments increase income taxes to cover the elderly.

In my opinion, governments play crucial roles in this problem. To illustrate, lots of countries have faced population’s issue. However, every government has its own solutions. For instance, increasing the number of immigrants in the USA. As a result, taxes from residents and immigrants there can cover the lives of the elderly. Therefore, I believe higher age problems are inevitable, but governments are the keys to solve them.

In conclusion, I have discussed both views that some claim longer lives of people cause serious problems, others believe it is advantageous for governments and organizations in an aging society. From my perspective, governments play crucial roles in this problem.