People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

There is a growing trend that multiple parts of the world have witnessed a decline in quality family time among family members. This tendency is attributed to a number of factors, and I opine that this reduced family time indeed has an adverse bearing on both families and society as a whole.

There are two compelling reasons why some fail to allocate sufficient time to their family as they used to. For one, according to their viewpoint, the bulk of parents in the past often worked around their house, making them return home to have lunch or dinner with their offspring. However, in modern society, fathers and mothers tend to face heavy work schedules in order to make a decent living or advance their career path. This potentially deprives them of their precious moments around their children. In addition, the rising popularity of technology is also blame for inadequate family time. This is because a multitude of people these days have a tendency to glue their eye to digital screens hours on end, such as smartphones, Ipads, or even e-readers, leading to their social isolation with people nearby. This can be seen in teenagers who seem to allocate much of their leisure time for texting, playing video games, or binge-watching, resulting in the absence of family time for their parents and siblings.

I am convinced that the phenomenon towards less time for family could bring about detrimental implications for not only families but also society at large. On a familial level, the dearth of quality time for family could further the distance among family members. This may engender family conflicts, or even potential divorces in worst-case scenarios, as members are unable to fully understand, sympathize, and cope with daily problem due to a lack of together time. On a societal level, the deterioration in family relationships can contribute to a host of social issues. For example, when parents spend more time on their work commitments and less time with their children, they may inadvertently render their kids prone to harmful influences from bad friends or social media, giving rise to increased violence and criminal actions.

In conclusion, hectic work schedules and the heavy use of technological gadgets are a driving factor behind decreased family time, and I would contend that this critical tendency can take its toll on families like likely conflicts and divorces and society, given that escalated violence and criminal activities.