Q. Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The tendency for having children later in life has witnessed an upward trend in recent years. There are some reasons for this, and I personally believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, financial issues could contribute to adults having kids at a later stage of life. It is apparent that raising a child requires a huge amount of money. At a young age, some individuals are not able to have a decent income to pay for their living expenses. Thus, this factor leads to a personal thought that giving birth to a child later could be better for the development of the youngster. Obviously, a child living in a wealthy family is provided with opportunities for the overall well being such as studying at the international school, or traveling to get more life experiences.

Furthermore, this propensity has both pros and cons. On the one hand, more time is devoted to their desires such as getting promoted at careers or traveling with friends and partners without taking care of babies, which leads to the joy of youth and relaxation. On the other hand, giving birth to a child at an old age has some risk to both women and babies. Via some reports, females, who are the over 30s, are said to decline in fertility or even suffer from miscarriage. Moreover, stillbirth occurs more in older women than the younger and the nutrients provided to the babies is reduced in quality. Consequently, the baby born may be malnourished or undergo a serious disease such as Down syndrome.

In conclusion, the trend to have children at later ages is caused by economic problems, and both the positive and negative sides of it can be seen in individuals and babies.