Schools should only offer subjects that are beneficial to students’ future career success. Other subjects, such as music and sports, are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools should omit co-curricular subjects that do not play a role in the future success of the students. I hold a contrasting view point, as they impart different skills in children and add colours to their, otherwise, boring lives.

The purpose of schools is to not only to tutor the tutees, but also, teach them certain qualities and build them as human beings. Dexterity, patience and sportsmanship help in various aspects in life. Furthermore, it broadens the horizon and constructs new paths for the individuals. Musicians, sportsmen, artists and speakers are made through these so called, “useless subjects”. If Messi, the footballer, had not been taught football, then we would not have had this amazing athlete among us.

Moreover, these classes bring variations to the monotonous routine of the students. They freshen up the over-worked brain and prevent burnouts in the children. The idiom, “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”, clearly elucidates on the significance of co-curriculum. These activities also maintain a good mental and physical health, subsequently, increasing their efficiency and learning capabilities.

Therefore, I stand my point that extra-curricular activities should be taught in schools to make studies interesting and avoiding a redundant lifestyle. In addition, produce well-rounded adults along with athletes, writers and artists for a more functional society.