Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that the historical films or television programmes play a paramount role in delivering history lessons for the public despite their slight inaccuracy. This essay partly disagrees with the aforementioned perspective and believes that the importance of this kind of movies and shows varies according to the purpose of viewers.

When it comes to individuals, who consider studying history as an optional choice, exciting films or programmes are the priority. To commence with, historical movies and shows are produced throughout the gamut of design processes, including sounds, visual images and characters. Combining these features make these types of entertainment become interesting and reach a wide range of viewers, especially those who do not really admire acquiring historical understanding. Therefore, sometimes having small faults will not affect the feelings of viewers. For example, famous Chinese historical dramas still attract a lot of attention and positive feedback from the public although they often make incorrect claims about historic events.

On the other hand, incorrectly historical movies or shows cannot be the precedence of individuals majoring in history or carrying out research into historical events. In other words, participating in a professional environment of conducting in-depth research on history does not allow students or experts to make mistakes related to the correctness throughout their work, as they can directly affect the knowledge, approaches and terminal result of their assignment. As a result, the whole effort and time given will be meaningless if the final result fails to get recognition from the public, and hence this work requires reliable resources, such as recordings or historical writings, which are confirmed by the authorities or government.

In conclusion, I assert that the value of historical films and shows, which sometimes make mistakes of correctness, would depend on the purpose of viewers.