Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent times the number of crimes have been on the rise. Unemployemnt, ineadquate mental awareness/health, food scarcity, housing troubles and many other factors were brought forth by the sudden increase in population which drove people to do heinous actions causing a ruckus within societies. Capital punishment was carried out in most of todays countries until the last century. It has since been discontinued while some other nations still has in practice inviting contradicting views from the public. In this essay I will discuss both views and give my perspective on this topic.

Punishment by death was widely common in the early to late 19th century for even the smallest of crimes like theft, robbery and some major crimes such as hommicides and a couple of other reasons. Some people who were claimed to have been associated with witchcraft and homosexuality were hanged, burned and in sometimes left to die. Humankind had developed countelss ways to tourture someone to make them pay for the injustice they brought to the society. But, a chance for the person to change and evolve into a better version of themselves were heavily disregarded or ignored. This is vital because people can change. Every human being should be given another shot at life and a chance to change.

On the other hand, some people commit deeply pre-meditated crimes such as murder and pedophilia. For instance, a child care worker in australia sexually assualtd more than 200 childern who are likely to be exposed to the risk of STD’s. This is an unforgivable crime and makes way for peoples outrage towards the convicted thus bringing forth the view of sentencing the criminal to death penalty for his senseless act.

While forgiveness is key and many crimes can be forgiven and all of mankind should be given a second chance, some people do not deserve sympathy for someting they did eventhough it was not right. I strongly believe penalty by death is not always an option, people are allowed to change and rehabilitate.