Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary society, the majority of individuals assert that their own country’s literacy must carry more significance than that of other nations. While others hold this idea, I agree with the notion due to these multifaceted factors.

The original literature of the individual nation holds paramount importance in education. Firstly, it is the innate duty of the citizens to preserve the originality of their own literature. In contrast, the influence of foreign languages like English triggered low literacy levels in their own language, especially in private schools where English is lectured as a specialized subject rather than its native literature, resulting in poor literacy levels in it. In addition, it is imperative to note that the literacy level of the citizens drastically affects foreigners’ impressions of their native language. Unless the dwellers value their own language, it has the tendency to go extinct in the future by substituting a distinct one as the first language.

On the contrary, the role of foreign languages should not be disregarded. Most people have to rely on the common language, such as English, under some circumstances. For example, a person who yearns to study or work abroad needs to have the ability to use the native language or common language of the country, particularly in communication with classmates at university and colleagues at work. Even in their own country, they can be employed by foreign companies for better pay than local companies. In other words, a person has an ocean of opportunities in their job, like getting promoted or increasing salaries because of their language skills. Moreover, studying different literature is also recommended as a way to enhance their global knowledge, such as about different cultures in separate countries. Additionally, learning a foreign language also assists in increasing self-confidence because they have to overcome language barriers before becoming proficient in the language.

In conclusion, although it is important to prioritize the native language in the education system, foreign languages should not be neglected due to several reasons, such as better job prospects, education, and communication factors. I personally think that the teaching curriculum should maintain a balance between native and foreign literature.