Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that introducing children to national literature is more rewarding than teaching them about international literature. Although I admit that becoming familiar with one’s own country’s literature has some positive effects, I believe that exposure to foreign literature is more beneficial.

On the one hand, locally written works can provide numerous benefits for individuals’ lives. Firstly, the produced content reflects stories about heroes serving as motivators, which encourage moral development in children by demonstrating honesty, courage, and kindness. These national heroes serve as role models for youngsters to see themselves in their favorite characters and follow in their footsteps can lead to personal moral growth. Secondly, the nation’s written works, which are passed down from generation to generation, can give insight into cultural traditions, beliefs, and values. Becoming familiar with these concepts can provide a sense of belonging to the national culture and make individuals feel proud of it. People who feel a strong connection are more likely to preserve cultural heritage alive and pass it down to future generations.

On the other hand, I think that learning about foreign works of literature comes with several positive developments. Firstly, reading literature in different languages improves students’ language skills by providing access to a variety of reading materials and sources with a rich array of words that are not common in their native languages. Becoming multilingual and effectively communicating in multiple languages open doors to global job markets and diverse careers in the future. Secondly, global literature, which often addresses political and social issues, yields a broader and deeper understanding of what is happening in the world. This global awareness motivates readers worldwide to engage informed and meaningful conversations on international topics. These individuals’ efforts to address these global challenges can foster collaboration and the exchange of ideas, leading to innovative forms of literature.

In conclusion, reading native literature can have significant advantages for children. However, in my opinion, international literature plays a crucial role in their lives that cannot be ignored.