Some people believe that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been a controversial debate about whether advanced devices in today’s world are making people more sociable and outgoing. While some argue that these tools facilitate easier communication, others believe they serve as major distractions from real-world interactions, which is the same with my opinion.

On one hand, modern technology overcomes geographical barriers, which allow people to communicate easily. This is because those include visual applications which let people text, call and receive information without face-to-face interaction. For instance, people could easily see the faces of their families through online calling in apps such as Messenger and Telegram. Moreover, social media websites like Facebook and Instagram also contribute to this phenomenon, since these tools let people interact and communicate with others through daily posts and in the comment section. Additionally, modern technology also contributes to education, such as in COVID-19, the calling app Zoom allows classes to run continuously despite the harshness.

On the other hand, these advanced tools could possibly distract people from real interactions. This is because these contain addictive contents, such as video games and social media, which can easily attract many people since they create dopamine, a neurotransmitter that creates pleasure, which prevents them from integrating into the society. For instance, a study has proved that 90% of teenagers who are addicted to the game Fortnite, spend dramatically less time in the outside world than normal people, with a difference of 4 hours.

In conclusion, while modern technology could contain applications that could make people more sociable, it also has many addictive contents, which prevent people from enjoying outdoor activities with other human beings, which has more harm than good.