Some people believe that spending money on space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think it is essential for human progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that space exploration is a squandering of resources, while others believe that experiments of outer space is crucial for humankind. This essay will closely examine both views before showing my final thoughts.

Admittedly, advocates of space research argue that it can push the frontier of science and foster technological development. Exploration on extraterrestrial life can allow scientists to clarify unanswered questions of outer space for decades, as well as revolutionising public perception about this topic. To conduct these explorations effectively, cutting-edge technologies and innovative solutions can be fostered, which may offer practical applications for society such as GPS systems, satellites or climate forecasts. These improvements can directly promote citizens’ life quality overall. However, this perspective gloss over the distant effects of space missions. Interplanetary research, albeit demanding a large-scale and sustained investment, can just offer insecure and delayed benefits, which cannot address pressing human concerns. For these reasons, it seems unreasonable to considering space missions as priority to human progress.

In light of the aforementioned considerations, many, myself included, would maintain that exploring universe where we live puts a burden on financial resources and poses threat to resource allocation. Space exploration requires considerable financial support, which strains the national budgets, especially in low- and middle-income countries. Correspondingly, public funds for urgent challenges such as pollution, health deficiency or illiteracy can be limited, which in turn resolve these issues superficially. For example, India continues to invest heavily in space missions while millions still lack adequate healthcare and education. Such misallocation of resources may hinder its national development.

In conclusion, I believe that a large proportion of financial resources for researching extraterrestrial life can be an invalid use. While space exploration offers potential profound breakthroughs in technology and science, its merits can be speculative and outweighed by its substanti