Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children. How far do you agree or disagree?

TV has many programs such as action, drama, comedy, horror, as well as cartoons for children. TV has something for everyone regardless of their age. Almost everyone watches TV daily, and it is an important part of their daily routine. So, the more shows that are produced for children, the more TV takes their attention away from daily necessities.

Those who agree with the point that television shows are of no value for toddlers have a number of reasons to support their point of view. To begin with, they could observe that children’s routines are being disrupted by the constant watching of TV, leading the children to neglect their school work and physical activities such as participation in sports. Excessively watching TV will cause a spiralling effect in shortening the children’s attention span, which could result in a noticeable drop in their overall grades. Some TV programs could have inappropriate images that will impact their upbringing. Some kids like to copy what they see on television, so they might copy wrestling, crimes shows, and end up hurting themselves as well as others.

However, the opponents of this point feel that with the correct amount of parental supervision, TV could be very useful for children’s development. Most importantly, some TV channels are dedicated to making educational programs that will teach kids helpful skills about language, nature, art, and craft, among many others. Thus, watching educational shows can encourage a child to be more creative, social, and intelligent. TV can sometimes babysit the children while their parents need some time away, whether to cook or clean, as well as TV could be a reason for the family to bond together. Troublemakers would calmdown once they hear their favorite show is playing on TV and will not move a muscle while they are watching.

To conclude, television programs are very entertaining, especially for children, and can be helpful in improving and building their character. However, moderation and parental guidance are essential in maximizing the benefits of TV shows. Watching TV must feel like a reward for the children only if they do their homework first.