Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication is having a negative impact on the reading and writing skills of young people. Do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, recent technological advancements have contributed to the way youngsters interact with each other. There is a debate whether the excessive use of digital devices such as computers and smartphones for communication negatively affects the literacy of young people. Personally, I totally agree with the statement for certain reasons.

First and foremost, young people use automated and instant texts to communicate. To be more specific, a variety of social platforms prepare well structured answers which consequently leads to decreased critical thinking, writing and reading abilities. For example, users cease to learn about grammar and the appropriate use of language as with the development of artificial intelligence, computers and mobile phones provide them with a plethora of suggested words and phrases. Therefore, not only do young people fail to improve their literacy but also the academic performance drops.

What is more, time scarcity is another reason why users do not succeed to maintain a satisfactory level of communication. Specifically, young individuals spend a substantial amount of time chatting and scrolling through social media for digital interaction rather than focusing on their reading and writing skills. Based on recent research, an increasing number of young people nowadays allocate their time using digital devices and neglecting academic duties. In this way, there is a decline of the ability of expressing themselves through writing and reading.

Taking everything into consideration, while there are merits of the technological breakthroughs regarding the communication among young people, I believe that the negative impacts surpass the positive, as specific and essential human abilities are replaced by digital applications.