Some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinema. Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People today have conflicting views about violence on mass media. From my perspective, I think that both sides of this issue will have its merits and demerits.

On the one hand, violent scenes should be controlled in some ways. Since, violence can have detrimental effects on teenagers, especially on their mental well-being. It can be said that their physiology is in the shaping process, hence, violence might have adverse reactions which can negatively affect them. For instance, “The Secret of NIMH” is a Disney-animated movie about a group of rats and besides the innocent story like others, this film includes various frightening scenes that can give a disgusting feeling to the audiences. Thus, I think that if the level of violence in mass media is not regulated, it can encourage the increase of social issues.

However, violence on mass media should not be adjusted. Violent scenes sometimes represent inhumanity and anti violence. For example, a Vietnamese movie called “Em be Ha Noi” in 1974, recreated the brutality of the US Armed Forces, which caused the death of many people at that time. This film was shown not only criticizing war but also expressing sympathy to the innocent people who suffered from consequences war brought to. I do believe that violence in movies or television can have positive influences especially for raising awareness of people.

To sum up, while violence should be regulated because of its harmful effect on people’ physiology, it can bring to the advantage what war affects on human lives.