Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many argue that advertisements are highly successful at influencing us to purchase items, while others believe that it is so ordinary that it now seems to be irrelevant. I believe that this calls for a very balanced debate, minding that both sides have logical reasons.

Once something becomes of routine and very accessible to view, its power is often overlooked. This is the case with advertising, where you are somewhat driven towards it, but will never feel the pull. Firstly, in current times, advertising is more broad on its spectrum, with its roots clenching onto us via the internet. Furthermore, it consciously, and subconsciously, affects our perspective of things.

For instance, when the supermodel Bella Hadid introduced her new “Weight-loss Pasta”, the internet went crazy to follow the same diet that she had, and it subsequently resulted being a worldwide trend. If not by choice, then curiosity often overtakes over us.

However, on the other hand, advertisements seem to be background noise for some. The reason being that so much of it is happening around us, that it appears to be irrelevant. Few don’t even have an inclination towards what is being advertised. For example, mothers will opt to buy cheaper baby napkins for their child, instead of the boasted ones shown on television.

In my personal opinion, advertising is of significant importance in the way that it affects us. We are constantly being fed with the concept of having items which hold fame instead of value. So to conclude, the advertising industry has its claws in us, real deep.