Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems

Many believe that the today’s primary environmental problem is the extinction of plant and animal species. Others, on the other hand, think that there are more significant problems associated with environment. I would argue that the loss of species is an important use but there are far more significant ones such as water, air and land pollution.

Some individuals argue that the loss of entire species is the most significant problem in the modern world. This is because there are particular plants and animals which are required to maintain the lives of humans or other organisms. Many animals get nutrition by eating other animals, and if the preys get extinct the hunters will suffer too. For instance, when the drought hits an area, most of the plants die because of a lack of water, making the herbivore species die too. Subsequently, this results with the death of other animals who eat them.

Other people and I believe that different environmental situations, such as pollution, are more significant. The reason for this is when the waste water and non-disposable garbage gets thrown away into the nature, both wildlife and humans suffer from this. For example, when plastic bags and fishers’ nets are released into the seas, the sea life -such as sea turtles- might get stuck in them and eventually die. Additionally, the toxic gasses released from un-filtered factories increase results of the greenhouse effect, making the global warming worse.

In conclusion, while some believe that among the present day’s environmental problems the death of particular species is the most important one, others -including me- believe that ,although it is important, this is not true and other problems should be considered as the primary.