Some people suggest that a country try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people emphasize that, all the edible items should be grown and produced by the nations and avoid import as much as possible. While it is necessary to be independent in producing food, it is essential to import food from the other countries, and thus, I partially agree with this notion.

To begin with, producing food items in the nation itself has a positive impact on the development of nation and the people. To be precise, with the increasing number of growing foods in the motherland offers certain benefits like low cost of food products. This also solves some of the problems like mal-nutrition in the developing countries. Moreover, by growing items in the country not only provides the financial stability, but also helps the nation to be self-independent and not rely on the other countries. For instance, developing nation like India has applied schemes like Make in India, which promotes the products made in India, and as a result there is a 4% rise in its GDP.

Conversely, it is not possible to make availability of each and every food resource in the land, and thus import can be proven beneficial. To illustrate, to grow particular kind of vegetation, it needs specific weather conditions and type of soil in which it flourishes. As with the difference in land and atmospheric conditions, one cannot yield good quality products. Also, by engaging into trades with other countries can build social relations, which as a result fosters the growth of the nation. For example, the trade between India and Russia is beneficial to both the nations, as India exports coffee and tea, and in return Russia offers necessary spices to India.

In conclusion, although growing items in own land provides advantages like financial stability and easy availability of food, it is crucial to import food items due to the relations with the other countries and unsuitable weather conditions. Therefore, I reiterate my stand of giving equal importance to both the beliefs.