Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

In recent years, some schools have adopted a team-intensive style of teaching and learning in their classrooms. In my opinion, I contend that group activity, at some extent, does contribute to the improvement of an individual’s intellectual abilities.

To begin with, several group activities, like sports, require a large amount of mental effort in a limited amount of time. It also helps sharpen an individual’s problem-solving skills over time. For example, a study conducted by the University of Wollongong focuses on team tasks and their other effects. It has been concluded that footballers and various sportsman have a higher intelligence quotient as they are able to decide their next move under such a time constraint, hence increasing their mental abilities.

In addition, people in group settings are able to broaden their knowledge on a variety of topics and are able to socialize more with other people instead of being in isolation, hence increasing their intellect. This is due to the peer feedback an individual obtains when done performing a task. For instance, a study conducted by child psychologists has proven that children who socialize with other people their age have a higher intelligence quotient in comparison to isolated individuals.

In conclusion, support groups play an essential role in contributing to a person’s intellect by broadening their knowledge and strengthening their problem-solving skills. Therefore, to some extent, such activities do contribute to a person’s intelligence. It can be expected that in the next few years, many more schools will adopt team-inclusive learning.