Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling peole, who would never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

It is commonly argued that people all around the world now can contact others universally regardless of distances and territorial restrictions via the Internet. This creates opportunities for people who rarely meet in person to communicate, of which the advantages do outweigh the drawbacks.

Advanced development in technology has so far brought about several benefits, especially available worldwide connections. In particular, exchanging information globally will not only enrich cultural diversity but also broaden knowledge about other cultures, which will shorten the distances between nations. Furthermore, global online communication promotes society to represent their true personality as they don’t know the one behind the screen and are not scared of criticism. Consequently, more and more genres of content are being shared freely all over the world nowadays on social media: Tiktok, Instagram,..etc; those means of communication encourage humans to be outgoing and live their lives confidently.

On the other hand, online contact poses a threat to individuals’ privacy and security. In general, most social media used for connection require their clients to provide personal information, which can be easily accessed and revealed to the public by the cutting-edge cybercriminals. Therefore, this leads to loss of safety and even valuable assets. Furthermore, this phenomenon lacks interaction, as it increases ignorance in relationships. As a consequence, people don’t feel the sense of belonging as well as a strong bond among them and the others.

In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online connecting, I consider it to be a positive development overall.