Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Nowadays, the rate of traffic violations is increasing in most countries. More and more people hold the view that individuals should be forced to retake their driving test every five years. As far as I am concerned, the merits of this tendency are of the utmost importance compared to the demerits.

On the one hand, taking a driving test every five years could be a financial burden for governments. To elaborate, the money that is spent on these examinations could be invested in more crucial issues such as enhancing the transportation infrastructures, subway systems or other types of mass transit. Furthermore, they could be a waste of time and expensive for drivers. For instance, a test taker who drives frequently and safely might find it an unnecessary loss of time and money.

On the other hand, they could contribute to safer roads and diminish car collisions and crashes in cities. Hence, they could reduce the road traffic mortality rate and traffic congestion that caused by the accidents. Moreover, they could help drivers to adopt changes in traffic rules. To elaborate, they could provide an awareness of the traffic rules, which change and adopt innovations in transportation over time, to drivers.

By way of conclusion, taking the above-mentioned justifications into account, I advocate that even though the retaking driving test every five year has numerous manifest demerits, the advantages of it distinctly outweigh them.