Some people think that schools are no longer necessary because people can acquire information on the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology and the increased number of people uploading content to the web, the internet is full of extensive information about almost anything. It is consequently an amazing learning tool. Some may argue that teachers are no longer necessary as learners can teach themselves by utilising resources available online. I completely disagree with this and believe teachers play an irreplaceable role in education by sharing personal experiences and providing emotional backing which are essential for a deeper understanding of learning.

The internet is very useful in teaching students. For example, I can download PDF textbooks, explanation videos, and online tutorials and engage in student forums to learn with a peer or as a group. These can all be used as additional material to support learning, however, it is not suitable for everyone to be used exclusively without a teacher. Immature students without good research skills and younger children may find themselves buried and overloaded by the vast amount of data available online. They may not know where to start. A mentor on the other hand is able to filter out the information and explain the basics and essential sections.

An educator, especially those of younger children in primary education play an essential role in personal development. For instance, nursery staff are often the first adults that children encounter outside of their families and often are inspirational characters to pupils. They often support in areas other than teaching such as support with character development, personal issues like bullying and issues that may be encountered at home. A human educator is therefore essential for learning and development.

In conclusion, although the internet proves to be a useful tool and hosts an abundance of information, it is not a suitable learning platform for students of all abilities and age groups. Instead, the learning experience is maximised when something is learnt from a teacher as they will add their personal style and experience.