some people think that the goverment is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spend elsewhere.

This is a hard question to be answered. Is art a necessity? If the answer is yes, we can simplify the topic’s question and say that as long as the art is essential in people’s life the goverment wisely invests money in art.

As long as people doubt the importance of art these kind of questions will rise. So, I think that we, first of all, investigate the contribution of art.

In my personal opinion, art is as important as the education. In a way it is a kind of education. People express themselves through art and develop empathy, self-knowledge, a deeper way to communicate with others and express themselves through nature. The learn the importance of the self-expression in individual level, the acceptance and the respect through the observation of different perspective of life of each person and that they are not so strong boundaries between wrong and right.

Art has a unique way to connect people. In the museums, in the galleries, in the art exhibitions, in the theatres, we have the opportunity to see the artworks from people where the place and the time is not a limit. We learn about their thoughts, their emotions, their problems, their goals and their dreams in a deeper, abstract, empathetic and meaningful way.

In conclusion, as long as we see the art as a way to approach the humanitism and the respect for each other and the enviroment, art is not a waste of money.