Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access to information on the Internet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Irrefutably, education became a basic need for every individual. Therefore, many a person believe that government should open public libraries in every city and village for citizens, while others argue that it is a wastage of money because in this technological era, people can access knowledge with the help of social media. I will discuss both views before presenting my own opinion.

Apparently, there are innumerable reasons why government should provide libraries. First and foremost, it is a source of knowledge. A library has many knowledgeable books which can help children to build strong mentally as well as academically. Not only a library has books but also it has magazines and newspapers which are paramount for getting knowledge about current affairs. Another than this, it is a quiet place. We can read easily without any distractions. Also we can prepare ourselves for competitive exams in such a calm and quite place. We can refresh our mind.

Nevertheless, opponents claim that it is a waste of money. Firstly, it takes a lot of money to construct libraries as well as government have to pay employees salaries. If government will open too much libraries, it requires a great number of books which consumes a lot of money and it casts an adverse affect on authorities’ budget. Additionally, it is a technological era, everyone has mobile and electronic gadgets which are very Informative for individuals. These gadgets provide e-books with free of cost. Also it has the updated version of information. We can easily search about anything with the help of internet.

In my opinion, although internet is a good source for getting knowledge but it can not replace the value of libraries. Because everyone does not have internet like in rural areas libraries play a crucial role. I personally believe that government should establish libraries with modern techniques. Germany’s government heavily invested in libraries, as a result, it has increased the students’ performance.

Conclusively, internet as well as libraries both are good source of information for citizens. But the importance of libraries can not be replaced by internet.