Some people think that using animals for experimentation purpose is cruel, but others believe that it is necessary for the development of science. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that animals should not be used for scientific experiments, and this should be declared illegal. On the other hand, people say that experimenting on animals can benefit scientists in doing some crucial scientific research.

Firstly, the excessive use of animals for some kind of testing purpose is considered brutal and harmful to animals, because sometimes, it can also be life-threatening for them. For example, rats are most commonly used for this purpose. They are often called “lab rats” and are treated very brutally in some scientific laboratories. Rats and other animals can be injected with some medications and chemicals to draw some experimental results from them.

Secondly, others say that experimenting on animals can be beneficial as it can help in drawing some important scientific conclusions and discoveries. For instance, the discovery of alternate current is also a result of an experiment made on lab rats. Scientists concluded that alternate current can be life-threatening to humans or animals by conducting tests on lab rats.

In my opinion, most of the animals are meant to be used by humans to benefit them. As horses were used in wars, and now in races. Frogs are also used by medical students to learn basic surgery. So, there is nothing wrong with using animals to conduct scientific tests, as long as it does not endanger the whole species of that animal.

To conclude this argument, it is extremely important not to overuse animals just to extract some scientific benefits as long as their breed and specie is not in danger of extinction.