Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that achieving fluency in a language can only be done by residing or working in a country whose citizens speak that language. While this may have been true in the olden days, I completely believe that individuals can attain language proficiency through ways other than living abroad.

The efficacy of teaching languages has been augmented by a stronger curriculum that integrates between theoretical and experential learning. Contemprorary courses enable students to converse via the non-native language only, with instructors coordinating the whole conversation and correcting learners when appropriate. In addition, the invention of mobile phone applications designated for mastering new languages have facilitated the language learning process and made it convenient for learners to keep in touch with the language throughout the day. For instance, Duolingo, a famous language application, is globally utilized by individuals and has eased their learning process.

Furthermore, with the advent of technology and the internet, individuals can still listen to conversations of natives without face-to-face interaction. Individuals can now seamlessly access films and songs of foreign origins, which exposes these people to the language daily and enables them to master its intricacies. Moreover, communicating with foreigners has never been easier. Facilitated by online meetings, people can virtually meet with foreigners and engage in long conversations, which would mimic the ones encountered if inviduals lived in a non-native country. For example, the popular virtual meeting app, Discord, connects people with different nationalities, which enables individuals to practice their skills on a daily basis.

In conclusion, technological innovation and advances in teaching have eased the learning of languages. With virtual conversations, applications dedicated for languages and enriched, pragmatic teaching systems, individuals no longer need to reside in a country to master its language.