Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether younger generations ought to uphold traditional social norms or be free to act as they choose. From my personal standpoint, despite plausible reasons supporting the former opinion, the latter appears equally convincing, and this essay aims to shed light on the rationale behind my argument.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the first view has gained popularity. In Eastern cultures, the value of community is fostered through each individual’s responsibility towards society. If everyone is aware of their duties, they are more likely to behave appropriately, enhancing harmony and unity within society. This can be exemplified by my cousin who has always been taught by the elderly to treat others with respect and kindness. As a result, she is willing to help others and receive their support in return, strengthening community bonds.

On the other hand, the opposing view is reasonable as well. In many Western societies such as the USA and Europe, individualism is prioritised which allows the youth to freely express themselves and not be restricted by any traditional culture and social norms. Without fear of negative judgment, they are able to pursue their personal preferences including fashion styles, music genres and eating habits. In addition, they can remain open-minded, explore new ideas and keep up with current trends in order to integrate more effectively into the international community.

In conclusion, while social traditions can boost a strong sense of community among young individuals, freedom of behavior enables them to follow their desire and engage with globalization. Therefore, it would be advisable to strike a balance between both sides of this debate.