Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There’s an ongoing debate whether spending money for space exploration is justifable or not. While using money into space exploration does prove a country’s advancement in technology, I do believe that it is more reasonable to invest those money into other worthy categories.

On one hand, exploring space does show how technology advanced our humanity has became. Thanks to many technologies nowadays, we are able to have convenient and life-saving devices. For instance, GPS for navigation between places, weather forecasting for disaster and communcation across the globe.

However, discovering the universe costs a significant amount of money. One example is how sending a singular spaceship can cost hundreds of millions of dollars, just to send a few astronaunts, which means it is impossible to carry the whole population to space. Additionally, doing space exploration can put a notable pressure on the enviroment. In particular, the materials and fuel for those spaceships and satellites are mined and collected from the habitat or caves. Gradually, those can lead to enviromental issues, which are beyond humans’ ability to solve, such as global warming or the rising sea levels.

Furthermore, that usage of money can be used for many other life-improving funds. For example, helping the homeless or giving unfortunate kids an opportunity to study are much utilization of the funding. Government can also invest those money on health-related projects, such as cancer searchs or simply reduce the hospitality cost, so that it can help low-income individuals.

In conclusion, while exploring space can show our growth in technology, certain uses of the money are meaningless due to how expensive they are. Investing money in other places like healthcare or helping the less fortunate ones are much better expenditure.