Some say that the most important thing about being rich is that one has the opportunity to help others. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals consider the chance to aid others as the most crucial part of being financially prosperous. From my perspective, I firmly oppose this school of thought.

Granted, some may argue that by paying a tremendous amount of money to purchase various luxurious merchandise, affluent individuals have been contributing to the enhancement in revenue of numerous merchants, which, in turn, motivates these businesses to thrive. Consequently, such firms may have a tendency to expand their business scale, resulting in an acceleration in the number of job opportunities. Therefore, these well-off purchasers may be backing other individuals indirectly to increase their income. However, it can be insufficient if we do not consider the intention behind such actions. To explain, when pouring money in order to achieve a certain object, I assume that the primary motivation for this expenditure can be the fulfilment of these financially prosperous individuals’ desires, even though I also acknowledge the possibility of the fact such well-off individuals may actually want to help others.

To add further credence to my assertion, I believe that reputation should be considered equally. This can be observed in the case of numerous corporations that have donated a significant amount of money to charity institutions or homeless people. Admittedly, it is undeniable that these entrepreneurs can aid numerous individuals through such actions. Nevertheless, while some of the donations may stem from the affluent people’s willingness to support their fellows, some other individuals sometimes take advantage of these actions for the sake of beautifying their images. For example, a company that is going to have a campaign to sell its new products may opt for going on a charity trip to mountainous areas with well-equipped media teams, who are ready to film their entire expedition for marketing purposes. As a result, they can not only have footage for marketing but also gain sympathy from the public.

In conclusion, despite the financial assistance from such well-off people, my opinion is that the opportunity to support others is not the most pivotal privilege of being affluent. This is because human desires as well as reputation should have equal consideration.