Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

With rapid modernization, some valuable animal species are almost vanished, while others appear to be at risk of extinction. The prominent causes for this matter can be identified as deforestation and overexploitation of fauna. To combat these devastating phenomena, reforestation, habitat conservation, and wildlife corridors should be promoted, while adapting sustainable practices and strengthening legislation and policies.

One of the major reasons for species extinction is deforestation. Due to swift urbanization and unsustainable expansion of agriculture, a multitude of forests are being cleared, leading to the destruction of habitats and making it difficult for species to survive. Moreover, fragmentation of lands results in breaking up natural habitats into small, irregular patches, hindering animals’ ability to find mates, food, and migrate. For instance, while not extinct, the Sri Lankan elephant population has been severely affected by expansion of agriculture, human encroachment, and deforestation, leading to a significant decline in their numbers. Moreover, another reason for species disappearance is overexploitation. Destructive fishing techniques and poaching can lead to depleted populations faster than they recover. For example, bottom trawling involves dragging a heavy net along the seabed that destroys habitats, uproots vegetation, and catches a wide range of non-target species (bycatch), contributing to ecosystem depletion and species extinction.

To overcome this devastating situation, reforestation programs must be implemented. In this case, habitat conservation is crucial, including establishing national parks, wild life sanctuaries, and marine protected areas. As a creative solution to land fragmentation, wildlife corridors can be constructed, which facilitate movement between fragmented lands, enabling animals to efficiently find mates and food. As an example, in Sri Lanka, the Endana Nature Corridor is created by the Dilmah Conservation Project to join fragmented Walankanda and Ihalakanda reserves. To combat overexploitation, implementing sustainable agricultural, fishing, and forestry practices is vital because it ensures resources are utilized without depleting ecosystems. More importantly, enforcing laws that protect endangered species and their habitats is essential, such as the Endangered Species Act. Also, stringent regulations should be introduced to stop overexploitation.

In conclusion, deforestation and overexploitation can be identified as major reasons for species endangerment, and to overcome this and to protect existing fauna, reforestation programs that include habitat conservation and nature corridors are significant. Furthermore, encouraging sustainable agriculture along with firm regulations is essential.