Some students decide early in life to pursue vocational careers that involve cooking or baking. For them, it is better to study their chosen occupations in high school rather than regular subjects. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some learners opine that conventional education is not appropriate for their professional pursuits due to the early recognition of their desired careers, and that vocational training should be a viable option when they enter high school. In my perspective, although it is true that specific demographics of students can benefit from early formal occupational orientation, the mandatory subjects provided in the current curricula are of significant importance. Therefore, it is highly favorable to integrate the two forms of education in order to produce the most well-rounded results.

Advocates for vocational education in high school would argue that it helps certain groups of students. Some learners with special abilities in particular fields should not be limited by the marking criteria of a traditional classroom. For example, if a young person is interested in and especially gifted in the field of music and arts, they should be encouraged to pursue their passion so as not to hinder their opportunities for improvement. The same is also true for students who are considered intellectually impaired or who are disadvantaged in learning. As their knowledge acquisition processes are different from those of regular students, they should be able to choose what occupation they wish to have in the future to concentrate on, so that it will not impede their development as a productive member of society.

However, early vocational training can lead to several adverse impacts, chief of which is the lack of common knowledge for individuals choosing such a path. Academic-focused study can open new horizons for young learners, teaching them a multitude of aspects of life, not restricted to work. Furthermore, teenagers do not usually have enough experience to accurately assess their needs; some might be disoriented after already making a decision on their desired careers. As a result, it is advantageous to encourage students to study a variety of subjects so that they are able to have a clearer image of their occupational desires. In my opinion, a combined approach which incorporates vocational workshops and formal education may be best to help foster young individuals’ professional awareness.

In conclusion, although the positive implications of vocational education are undeniably remarkable for special groups of students, it should also be noted that students should be encouraged to take part in traditional formal learning as well.