Studies suggest that children spend more time watching TV than they did in the past and spend less on doing active or creative things. Why do you think it is the case? What measures and methods can be used to tackle with it?

Nowadays, kids spend most of their time watching TV more than physical or creative activities. This essay aims to investigate the causes of this problem and identify the measurements and methods for the solution.

There are many reasons for the change in behaviour of the young generation today. The most prominent causes are the development of technology, followed by the rise of the entertainment industry. In the past, TV was mainly used for broadcasting news and important messages from the government. After years, TV channels increased, and the show options varied. For example, when I was 7, the kids’ shows were limited at a specific time, so I did not have much time to watch TV. Instead, I played more with my family or friends in the neighbourhood. This is different from this present time when children can always find kids’ shows with broader options and become their favourite source of entertainment. That is why being active or doing some creative things is not interesting for them anymore.

There are many disadvantages to children who spend most of their time watching TV. They can cause severe eye disease or addiction. As an adult, we can do several things to overcome this problem by assisting the kids to become more active in physical activities or doing some things that involve their creativity. For instance, if they are seeking entertainment on TV, we can offer other fun activities such as sports or arts that can make them busy and spend their time not just thinking about the shows on TV. We also have to limit when the TV will be turned on.

In conclusion, the reasons behind kids spending too much time on TV are technological development and the rise of kids’ show options. Therefore, we have to habituate the young generation to do more beneficial activities like shifting their entertainment sources to sports or arts.