“success is often measured by wealth and material possession.Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successful person.”

In today’s world, it is an undeniable fact that people’s social success is judged by the amount of money he or she earns or possesses. I think material belongings should not be the determination of how successful the person is, instead, there ought to be other factors to take into account.

To commence, there is a widespread stereotype among people about being successful. They think that the higher the income of the person, the higher his or her ranking is in the society. To those, successful person is the one who wears luxurious clothes, drives fancy cars and lives in an opulent abode. But in reality, success does not depend on personal wealth. What actually adds up to being successful is the personal goals and achievements a person acquired throughout his or her life. I personally think that the effort is the determining factor of the success. However, goals and achievements are fundamentals, for goals are the motive behind such efforts and the achievements are the result of people’s pursuits.

When it comes to what defines a successful person there is a certain criterion to be met. Firstly, a person should be able to set short-term goals and stick to them. Despite the intensity of the circumstances, dedication should be the next ingredient. One should never lower the efforts and dedication they are putting on achieving those goals. Even if there is a point of decline, they should be able to keep on, and there comes the discipline. Discipline is a key part of being successful, because but for discipline, people would give up on what they are trying to achieve after the very first struggle.

To sum, I hold the belief that measuring success is not limited to people’s wealth and their financial status. Conversely, it must be judged by the efforts people are making and what they achieved in life, all of which is mentioned above.