The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be used to solve these problems?

The migration of citizens from rural areas to urban cities, in quest of better opportunities, significantly impacts both places. This essay will discuss rural-urban migration problems and the measures that government can take to address these problems.

The foremost problem with rural-urban migration is overpopulation in cities and shortage of productive labor in villages. As more people relocate, the demand for housing and public services increases. This leads to lowering the quality of life for all city residents and resource depletion in cities. The loss of labor force in rural areas may result in lower agricultural productivity and slower economic growth. Due to younger generations leaving in a pursuit of career growth, higher salary, and a more stable lifestyle, rural areas struggle. For instance, British University illustrated that around 25% of the rural population of youngsters applied to urban city academic institutions in 2016.

A possible solution to this problem is government investments in local industries and infrastructure in order to develop rural areas. Improving education, healthcare, and access to modern technologies in villages can help retain residents and reduce migration. Furthermore, cities need better amenities to accommodate growing populations with guaranteed access to cheap housing, healthcare, and education. For example, after tackling such measures, Kazakhstan reduced the rate of migrants from rural areas.

In conclusion, with the rising number of people migrated to developed cities, migration affects both the rural and urban areas. Therefore, it is necessary for government to take these measures in order to achieve balanced development.